deancasbigbang:

Title: Roommate Wanted
Author:
supernatural9917
Artist:
Busy Squirrel
Rating
: Explicit
Pairings: Dean/Cas, past Dean/Carmen, non-explicit Dean/others and Cas/others, minor Charlie/Dorothy, minor Sam/Jess
Wordcount: 20000
Warnings/Tags: they were roommates, Dean thinks he’s straight
Posting: 10/26/2018

Summary:

Dean Winchester moved to Pontiac, Illinois six months ago when his girlfriend Carmen got a new job. Unfortunately for Dean, Carmen then left him for her boss, so he needs to find a roommate ASAP. Castiel Novak needs to move out of his brother’s house before his niece is born, and when he finds Dean’s ad on Craigslist, it seems like the perfect solution for both of them. So what if Dean is ridiculously gorgeous? Castiel can keep his crush under control. So what if Castiel is gay? Totally straight Dean isn’t at all affected by seeing him hook up with dudes. They’re just a couple of completely platonic roommates.

Well… that’s what they think, anyway…


Roommate wanted: 2 bed 1 bath apt on west side of Pontiac. $400/month including bills for furnished room, access to half the space in the rest of the apartment, and a reserved spot in the parking lot. I’m a dude in my late 20s, I like cars and pie. No slobs or pets.

‘Wow, Dean, that’s a really appealing ad. I can’t imagine why nobody has responded yet,’ Charlie said with a sarcastic eyeroll. ‘You sound so friendly and welcoming. You do realise that you need a roommate if you want to keep this place?’

‘I know, I know,’ Dean sighed. ‘I just thought I’d moved past the part of my life where I’d need a random roommate.’ Charlie rubbed his shoulder in sympathy. ‘I definitely didn’t think I’d be stuck in a town where I barely know anybody because my stupid ex-girlfriend dumped me for her boss.’

‘Hey, Carmen’s loss, man. I’m glad you moved here.’

‘Thanks Charles,’ Dean replied, wrapping her in a hug. ‘Too bad you don’t want to move in.’

‘Yeah, sorry. Too bad I don’t have a second room so you could move in with me. That would kinda rule.’

‘Nah, we’d end up fighting over the same girl and it would get ugly.’

‘Oh Winchester, like you’d stand a chance against me.’ Dean wasn’t able to get his argument in because just then his inbox pinged. ‘Ooh, look, somebody replied!’

Hello, I saw your advertisement for a roommate on Craigslist and would like to have a look at the apartment. I’m also a ‘dude’ in my late 20s, no pets and not a slob. Can I please make an appointment ASAP? My phone number is 555-0918. Sincerely, Castiel Novak

‘What the hell kind of name is Castiel?’ Dean laughed.

‘Who knows? Text him, maybe he can come by tonight and your problem will be solved!’

‘Doesn’t that come off as a bit desperate?’ The inbox pinged again.

Hello again, apologies for bothering you again so soon, but I just wanted to stress that when I said ASAP I really meant it. I’m currently living with my brother and his wife, and they need the room for their new baby. My SIL is due in a week and is planning a home birth, so I’d really rather get out of here before the place is covered in placenta. Thanks. -Castiel

Dean and Charlie looked at each other and dissolved into a fit of laughter. ‘OK, I’m definitely calling this guy right now,’ Dean said when he’d gotten his breath back. ‘He sounds hilarious.’

Leave a comment