Welcome Back!


I’m not sure if I am welcoming readers or myself back, but here we are, either way.

The past 6 months or so have been insane in my personal life, and as a result anything (and everything else) ground to a complete halt.  This mainly was due to my finishing my masters degree (in biology, of all things).  My life was consumed with writing a paper and giving a presentation, taking my last grad class, and taking (and passing) my exit exam.  Oh, yea, and I had work, too.  And that insanity finished just in time for the holiday madness.  So, here I am, finally feeling somewhat recovered, and trying to remember what it is like to have extra time.

It finally occurred to me a few days ago that I like to read..I hadn’t read a non-science related paper/article/book in I don’t know when…so now I am devouring books on my Kindle like the written word is going out of style.

I am getting back into the swing of things training wise..since August, I have only been at karate once a week, and BJJ not at all.  The 6 weeks prior to the holiday I started a fitness program being held at our gym, called MAX fitness.  If you are in the NJ area, you can check it out at http://www.10weekfitness.com.  It has both a nutrition and exercise component, and I need both!  I enjoyed it, so I am continuing it into the new year.  And by enjoy, I mean, I am willing to get up at 4:30 am to go to a 5 am class 5 days a week.  One of the best things I like about it is that the exercise program is the format:  MWF cardio; Tues arm strengthening; Thurs leg strengthening.  I need the strengthening desperately, I have little T-rex arms!   

I have been saying for over a year I wanted to do extra workouts beyond my martial arts training, but I just am not motivated to do so on my own.  Exercise/training is definitely a social activity for me, and now that I have learned this, I am more successful then ever in the past.  I hope I will be able to stick with the nutrition program, that is the hardest part for me.  I like food. 😀

Anyway, I hope now that I have time again, that I will be able to devote some more time for blogging, I have missed both writing and reading and commenting on blogs. Well, once I remembered that I used to blog, cause I forgot….LOLS   😀

 

Leave a Reply

