Misc. Ramblings


First, I want to state I can’t spell misc. you know, that word that means a bunch of unrelated things that are stuck together in a catagory cause they don’t go anywhere else?  Yea that.

I realized today that for years I was going to a crappy dermatologist.  (I had an appointment today at my new dermatologist)  I have rosacea and occasionally  have ecxema (which i also can’t spell), as well as the occasional bout of “i’m going to get skin cancer and die” brand of hypochodriac-ism.  So needless to say, I have to occasionally make a trip to the dermatologist.  My old dermatologist used to make you wait..and wait..and wait.  I used to bring papers to grade while waiting in his office cause I would be there for a minimum of an hour and a half.   And then when he came to see you, you saw him for I dunno, 15 seconds?  Long enough for him to ask what was wrong, do a minimal overview, and throw a prescription at you and away you went.

About 2 1/2 years ago, I moved about 45 minutes south of my previous location, and didn’t really need any dermatology stuff.  So when I had my latest bout of “oh my god I’m going to die of skin cancer”  I researched a new dermatologist near me.  And that is when I realized what an awful dermatologist my old one was.

First, I was seen almost right away, and was not left waiting for hours on end…she took a few minutes to talk to me, and gave me some creams to use…no freaking antibiotics!!! (my old dermatologist had me on antibiotics for like, 6 months…I finally just stopped going, I’m totally against that)  and she asked if I had dandruff because that was also common in people with skin like me…and gave me a suggestion to leave my dandruff shampoo in a while before rinsing it out.  3 years at the other dude and he never even MENTIONED my dandruff…

Today I went and she walked in and called my by my NAME, and remembered what she had prescribed me the time before…and again took the time to listen to me…I (like apparently everyone else in our little bjj blog community) managed to get ringworm…and my regular doctor told me to use the over the counter stuff…and when that didn’t work, I decided to go back to my (nice) dermatologist.  So she gave me an antifungal pill that I take once a week for 3 weeks, a cream to put on the rash, and a 2nd cream because she said some of it might be due to my excema (which, 3 paragraphs later, I still can’t spell).  I was in and out of there in a half hour, and felt well taken care of. 

Moral of the story?  Don’t accept Mediocrity (or less then mediocrity, for that matter!)

Meanwhile, apparently wordpress has decided to not inform me when my subscribed blogs have posted new posts…I haven’t read any posts in like 2 weeks (well that’s as far back as I had to go in Leslie’s blog to figure out why her comments were turned off!) WIERD….hmmm…and apparently it isn’t going to let me insert a link to her blog, either…grrrrr

Oh, there’s actually some bjj stuff in my ramblings today–Saturday is a stripe test…4th stripe…AAAAAAHHHHHHH that means I’m that much farther away from blue belt!!!! (yes you read that correctly, I said FARTHER away…)

I have off this week–the school I work at has a winter break 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

This morning I went to the morning class–I wish I could go more often, but the only time I can go regularly is during the summer…we did circuts and then some cardio 🙂 

I have two checkpoints during the year where I look back at where I’ve been and where I’m going training wise.  One is in May, because every year since I started (I just finished year 2) of training, my dojo marches in the local Memorial Day Parade, and I take a picture with my two good friends at the end of the parade.  I didn’t intend the very first picture to be a way of remembering my progress, but it has turned into a great way to take stock on how well I’ve done to get back in shape.

The other is during this week (did you wonder where I was going with that?)  That’s because I started at my dojo in February 2 years ago, and only a week or two into training I hit winter break.  I VERY clearly remember me running around with a muay thai pad over my head and being afraid to stop because I feared I would fall over.  I remember that moment as a clear reminder of how out of shape I was when I started.  I could barely hold that muay thai pad over my head without it touching…I think there was only a centimeter of space between it and my head! 

So today, as we ran sprints as our cardio at the end of class, and I, although breathing very hard, was able to get all the way through them and didn’t drop dead, used that memory to help me keep pushing.  I’ve come a long way, and I’ve got a long way to go, but I am definitely up for the challenge!  Here’s to another wonderful year of martial arts!

3 thoughts on “Misc. Ramblings

  1. Lol, I’m not so great on the spelling front, either, and rely on browser plugins to check for me. 😛

    Glad you found a doctor who not only listens to you but actually seems to know what she’s talking about!

  2. Man, having a doctor who actually cares makes all the difference. When I was pregnant, the first doctor I went to seemed like she was trying to win a competition for most patients seen in one day. He didn’t like to bother with answering questions and he had horrible bedside manner. After I switched, things got so much better. Glad to hear you found a good one! 🙂

  3. Thanks! I agree. I accepted the first doctor for as long as I did because when I talked to other people, they all said “oh well that’s just how dermatologists are”…but now that I’ve found one that’s not “like that” I am going to remember not to accept less then great treatment again!

Leave a Reply

