Basic Takedowns


**Side note** My computer absolutely REFUSES to let me embed any videos tonight. *grumble grumble*…

This past Monday, 1/24/11, we reviewed 3 basic takedowns that can be used to get your opponent to the ground.  Since before BJJ was BRAZILIAN Jiu Jitsu, it was JAPANESE Jiu Jitsu, and its cousin, Judo, the names for these takedowns are Japanese. Although I can’t speak for Japanese Jiu Jitsu, but Judo, which focuses heavily on throws, also uses these takedowns. (please correct me if I’m wrong, I don’t really know that much about Judo OR japanese Jiu Jitsu)

The first takedown was Osoto gari, or “outer leg reap” 

The word “reap” really threw me off when I started researching the technique, until I remembered that a “reaper” is traditionally a farmer who cuts tall grass close to the root.  This makes sense, since you are basically kicking your opponent’s feet (their roots!) out from under them.

<–farmer reaping 🙂

In the Osoto gari, you step your left foot to the outside (and past) your opponent’s right foot.  You then trip their right leg with your right leg. ~err..watch the video!!! 🙂

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mgjfBnTMn1c

The second technique was Ouchi gari, or major inner reaping.

Here, you step inbetween your opponent’s legs (instead of outside) and trip, or reap, thieir left leg with your right leg.

I had a really hard time finding a video I liked of this move…so if anyone else has one, please add it!! 🙂

The third technique was Uchi mata, or inner thigh throw.

You step inbetween, turn, and throw your opponent over your inner thigh–hence the name.

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O93a4H5dEis

Leave a Reply

