An (impromptu) New Years Prayer


Dear God,

I can’t sleep tonight. For whatever reason. But mostly this: I worry a lot about my parents. They are getting older and I worry about loosing them. This year, two of my friends have recently lost a parent–Please keep giving Dani and Kim strength and perserverence–and last year’s scary trip to the hospital is still very near in my memory.

I don’t know if I’m ever going to be a mother. But I have become an unofficial aunt to the beautiful glorious and wonderful Madelyn Leigh, and I worry about her all the time. Please keep her and her family safe, I don’t know how I would survive without them.

I am so lucky and blessed. I have family and friends who love me–and whom I love right back, a job, a warm house, food to eat. There are so many people out there who are missing one or more of those important neccessities in life.

In this coming year, and all the years to come, please give me the strength to continue to grow as a person and to get over the hurdles that will come my way. Help me to learn from my mistakes and guide me to make better decisions. Help me to protect the people I care about and keep them safe.

Most of all, keep safe all of my family and friends–strong and healthy–for this new year and all of the years that have yet to arrive.

Thank you so much for everything.

Love,

Regina

Leave a Reply

