Yay! back to monday bjj and karate :)


Ahh…crazy schedule has calmed down a little bit…

although I kinda giggled…I put on facebook that my plans for this evening included: nap, grocery shopping, bjj, karate, and relaxing….and someone posted “whoa, that’s a lot in one evening” and i’m thinking to myself…well that’s cause three nights of the week I’m stuck at band practice and can’t do ANYTHING…

ANYWAY…

The next few weeks look like they are going to be review in bjj cause we have a stripe test coming up. I have to convince my band director to give me a saturday off so I can go to the test…I won’t be able to make the make up either it’s even worse timing…it’s like during our championships…otherwise I have to wait like another bunch of months and that’s just boo. 😦

Today we reviewed sweeps–sissor (gosh, anyone, how do you spell sissor? i can’t ever get it right…sigh) situp, and a sweep from when the person in your guard stands. Of course, I don’t knwo the name of that sweep…I’ll call it the stand up sweep. So the person stands up, you grab their right sleeve with your right hand….left foot goes to their hip, right foot hooks under their calf. Push with your left leg, pull with your right, and down they go.

I have to be honest, I was a bad girl today. It’s been such a long time since I’ve taken bjj at my home school cause of my loopy schedule, I probably did slightly more talking then jits…I haven’t seen my usual jits partner in like a month…we had a lot to catch up on, and of course she wanted to hear about the tourney and stuff, plus we’re both school teachers so we were talking about our first days at school etc etc.

Karate class: Did a little bit of mitt work, not a lot cause it’s technically a grappling week….worked on blocking and firing back with a cross or an upper cut. I worked with Paul so I got a good workout 🙂 I ❤ Paul he's a super amazing sempai 🙂 mmmm….some review of self defense from a choke from the front, and then grappling we worked how to get out from someone who is mounted….the usual suspects, here, umpa and knee to elbow (so HARD!!!) but I was evesdropping to the advanced people he was showing them how to get to butterfly guard…and said he'd show more at the intermediate/advanced class….I guess I'm going to class on Thursday!!! 🙂

Felt really good to get back to training at "home" Missed everybody and was glad to be in a familiar school.