The insanity begins….


I have to go back to work this Wednesday. Booo!!! Don’t get me wrong, 1. I love what I do, and 2. am glad to have a job in these economic times. I just wish both jobs didn’t start up AT THE SAME TIME! During the fall I teach a color guard, and we have rehersals in the evenings…so I get my butt up early…I leave my house around, hmm..6:30 am…and on band nights, which are tuesdays, wednesdays and fridays, I don’t get home until about 10 pm. Thats a LOOOOONG Day. Saturdays also practically don’t exist as a day off either cause we either have rehersal or a show, both of which take up the majority of the day.

Of course, the main reason this is boo is that it interferes with my training schedule (of course!)…So I only get to train on Mondays and Thursdays…but that’s ok, Mondays are my BJJ day, so that’s quite alright with me 🙂

^ I don’t know why there is such a giant space there, apparently wordpress just wants to f*** with me today. Anywho, I field tested packing food for the day a few weeks ago, and it ended up something like this:

Breakfast (6 am):
Bowl of cereal with skim milk and fruit of the week (what is in season and yummie or a banana)

Snack upon arriving at school (7:30-8 am):
Nonfat Yogurt

Mid-morning snack (9:30 am):
Protein shake

Lunch (11:00 am)
Low fat turkey and swiss on a sandwhich thin with mixed greens
A snack sized package of baked chips

Snack (2-3 pm):
Fruit of the week
Nonfat Yogurt

Dinner (5 pm):
Grilled Meat of the week (usually chicken) and mixed green salad

Mid Rehersal Snack (7 pm)
Don’t know what to eat here…

Dessert Reward for getting home safe and sound (10 pm):
Sugar Free Chocolate Pudding

There isn’t a lot I can do about the times I eat. I leave my house around 6:30 am…I get to school between 7 and 7:30, depending on traffic. My first class technically starts at 7:49, although it’s just homeroom until 8 am. Most days I have a break 2nd period, which is around 9 am. Lunch is 4th period, between 10:30 and 11:15. Then my next break is 8th period, which starts at 1:45 or sometimes I have to wait until school lets out, which is 2:30. Band Rehersal goes from 5:30 pm to 9 pm, whatever I eat as a snack there has to be on the fly, so to speak. I’m just worried I’m eating so early that I will get home and be starving…but I don’t want to eat my main meal for the day at 10 pm at night when I get home.

Thoughts? Suggestions? PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!

9 thoughts on “The insanity begins….

  1. I am no expert, but your meal/snack plan sounds pretty good. One good snack that I like to bring on the run is mixed nuts or trail mix. I add a few m&m’s too, but that’s bad. lol I also like the Nature’s Own peanut butter granola bars. For two bars I think it’s only 200 calories. And they’re pretty good. Someone told me they really like peanut butter and banana sandwiches, but I haven’t tried them. Man…just realized how many peanut products I’ve endorsed. lol

  2. Wow, you eat like me. All day!! 🙂

    I usually pack my favorite snacks in a Ziploc bag if I’m running around.
    •lite Popcorn
    •1/4 c blend of almonds, walnuts and dried cranberry/raisins
    •Sliced celery, radishes, carrots and/or apples and a tablespoon of peanut butter in a little Tupperware container to dip things in.
    •1/2 a peanut butter or deli sandwich on whole grain bread
    •a banana

    I get home from GJJ or Muay Thai at 8 or 9 pm and need a light meal so I might make a bowl of Multi grain oatmeal (takes 2 minutes in the microwave) and add some berries or a bit of Greek yogurt/cottage cheese or applesauce to it.

    Or maybe try a flatbread pizza that you can throw together fast with sauce, spinach, a little cheese and maybe some leftover cooked chicken slices. Just pop in the oven for a few minutes until toasted and cheese is melted.

    Homemade soup or sodium reduced canned soups like Tomato Basil, Italian Wedding or Chicken noodle. Great for fall and winter!

    You might enjoy the book “The Eat-Clean Diet” by Tosca Reno B.Sc. B.Ed. http://www.eatcleandiet.com/ I refer to it often when I need some ideas and help getting back on track.

    Keep us all posted on how it goes.

  3. @ Allie–YUM peanut butter…..*drools* I ❤ peanut butter…so I try to stay away from it…as I have absolutely NO self control (having eaten an ENTIRE box of peanut butter containing granola bars in one sitting) but I like the trail mix idea..crunchy is good 🙂

    @ Valerie–YUM peanut butter…*drools more* I forgot all about the soups…thats a good idea…I also try to eat lentils, again of the reduced sodium type…its the only legume I can stomach…lol

    thank you both for your suggestions, lots of great snack ideas so I don't get bored with my current snak foods…

  4. I like your new theme.

    I appreciate your PB dilemma. Since I often find myself eating peanut butter on a large spoon like a Popsicle, I have learned that natural Almond Butter is much less sweet and appealing and I don’t eat jars of it. You might give it a try.

  5. @ Valerie

    Thank you 🙂 I really liked the way the header looked, thats why I chose it…and I love things that are black and grey…the (only) suit I own is black and grey, If I have my way my next car will be black or dark gray…

    anywho, where do I come across almond butter?

    • I get Almond Butter right at my grocery store. It’s next to the other brands, costs a bit more but seems to last a lot longer since I don’t consume as much. The coolest place to get it, however, is at a natural food market like Harry’s or Wild Oats because you can blend it yourself. They usually have a good selection of nuts (almonds, peanuts, pecans) and sometimes chocolate chips to add to it (bad!) It’s like a giant food processor that purees the nuts right into a little container for you. How awesome is that?

  6. Pingback: 2010 in review « Karate Girl

Leave a Reply

