Have a goal, it does the body good :)


Recently, at the end of karate class, Sensei was talking about setting goals…and she said if you set a goal for each day, then at the end of the day you can look back at your day and go, oh great, I succeeded at *put your goal here* and it will keep you from getting bored with the routine of day after day.

One of my summer long term goals is to get my house in order, since in the past two years I’ve lived in my condo I have promptly accumulated a lot of CRAP.  (Not a hoader, I swear…its just the papers reproduce when my back is turned!) However, it has been very intimidating to get started on the cleaning process…so after hearing this little pep talk, I thought to myself, “hey Regina, does it really matter where you start, or how much you do in a day? NO!  As long as you do a little bit each day, eventually it’s GOT to get better.” 

So, I set a goal.  My goal is that every day, no matter how small…even if it’s just taking out the trash, I will do SOMETHING to straighten my house.  So far, so good…I have been avoiding the “I must get such and such done today” trap because it puts this odd pressure on me and I shy away from that (don’t ask me why it just does). 

Every night (cause that’s when I clean..tooo hot during the day YUK) I look around and find the thing that annoys me the most…For example, I started with my plop table…(which is the table where I *plop* all my stuff–mail, etc when I get home.  I know, a very original name :). Anyway, It had gotten so piled with mail (again, it reproduces at night I swear) that I couldn’t *plop* anything on it anymore.  So I cleaned it :).  And I felt so good about cleaning it off that I continued to clean and throw mail away and even *gasp* DUST!  Before I knew it, I had made major progress!  And so I have continued.  And I feel successful–I don’t feel overwhelmed, I have yet to fail to achieve my goal, and most of the time I surpass my goal, and when I get tired of cleaning, whether it’s been 10 minutes or an hour, when I look around at what I was doing, I can see a difference, and a feel a sense of achievement.  *yay I did it!*

It’s not a world changing idea, but I can guarentee that I as long as I set a (reasonable) goal for the day, I will NOT ever go to bed thinking *gosh, today was a complete waste of a day*–Instead, I can go to bed saying *yay, today I cleaned my plop table and it looks a lot better!*

And it is most interesting how such a small thing like “set a goal for every day” can make such a BIG difference in the long run.

Happy goal setting!

2 thoughts on “Have a goal, it does the body good :)

Leave a Reply

