Training 7/14/10


Okay, as it isn’t yesterday anymore, I hope I will remember what I did…lol

Morning:

Basically reviewed combos we’d done previously in the week…jabjab cross..jabcross hook…front kick to side kick…”how to be a gnat”…I’m sure there were more but I can’t remember….Sparred for what seemed to be a LONG TIME…in the evening classes..there are a LOT of people..so we usually take turns…half on the mat for a 2 minute round, then switch.  There were only 4 of us with sparring gear (about 10 total, I’d guess) so lucky us, just 30 sec break in between each round.  It was nice though, for sparring…lots of room, and no crazy spazzy people trying to punch me in the head!

Did some evil cardio that basically amounted to running across the mat, doing 3 burpees, and running to the other side *yuk* some tobata (spelling??) protocols with various lunges and squats (my favorite, jump squat/switch stance touch ground–sarcasm!!!)  and a nice ab workout.  Then we did a total of two minutes in plank…I thought I might die…I was staring at the mat watching as sweat dripped off my nose onto the mat…I HATE that…it’s sooo annoying…but all in all a good class

After my class there is a mini-sam’s class..itty bitty munchkins…so I stayed to help out…They’re sooooo CUTE!!!!  We set up a “bridge” for them to cross using our big kicking pads (maybe they have a name I dunno) cause they are curved so if you put then down right, they have some see-saw action 🙂  When the munchkins got halfway across, Sensei had a foam thingie that he would swipe at them and they had to duck or jump 🙂  There was this one adorable munchkin who was concentrating VERY HARD to keep her balence…even the other munchkins would stop and were enthralled by the suspense of watching her travel the bridge…it was like watching balance beam in gymnastics…when she got to sensei, she would daintily step over his foamy thing…it was sooo cute…If I could get a guarantee to have a kid like her, I might actually want one lol…

After the little sams class, the head Sensei sat me down so we could talk about fitness goals–we talked about loosing weight and eating right, and setting a goal for weight…which I have trouble with…I  hate setting a weight goal like…I’m going to lose ten pounds etc etc…cause if I don’t make it I beat myself up (I’m really good at that)  I also explained that I am more interested in getting my clothes to fit nice and maybe be down one size.  Sooooo, we set my goal that the next belt I receive (which will be red how scary is that?) will be one size smaller than the belt I have now.  I’m all for that.  So I’m telling all of you out there too–since sharing your goals is supposed to help you achieve them 🙂

Evening:

Evening class on Wednesdays is at our other school, which is in the next town over…not far, maybe 15-20 min from my house (I live around the corner from my primary school)  We worked on kicks on pads…built up this combo, one kick at a time–front leg front kick, back leg front kick, switch front leg front kick, roundhouse kick.  OWWWW…my legs are sooooooree…

Sparring was nice…I like sparring at this school better…the Sensei here very rarely lets us go full out and usually is very specific about what she wants us to work on, which helps prevent the spazzy hit your head people from hitting your head. *grinz* For example…today our rounds were boxing ONLY…no kicks, no head contact.  Nice, smooth…didn’t feel beat up 🙂 yay! LOL at one point though I did accidently throw a front kick to push someone away who was coming in too fast…totally not my fault (imo) cause we’ve been talking all week about using a front kick to get someone away to give you a second to get your hands up when you are tired or won’t be able to defend in time 🙂

Phew…I wrote a lot…my fingers are tired *grinz*

Leave a Reply

